Council Elections and Voting

Local Government Elections, 16 October 2021

Local government elections are held biennially, on the third Saturday in October. The Mayor and Councillors are each elected to four year terms. Enrolled residents elect the Mayor and three councillors to represent each ward (West, Central and East).

The City of Cockburn elections are conducted by the Western Australian Electoral Commission, which appoints a Returning Officer to oversee the elections, including taking candidate nominations and supervising the count during the election.  

The Returning Officer for the 2021 Local Government Elections is the person to contact for any enquiries.

The following table displays the vacancies on Council by Ward including the Mayoral position and term of office.

Ward Position/s Term
  Mayor Four Year Term
East Ward One Councillor Four Year Term
West Ward Two Councillors Four Year Term
Central Ward Two Councillors Four Year Term

The terms of the Mayor and five Councillors will expire in October 2025.

Election Day

Residents of each ward respective wards receive voting forms in the post prior to the election day. Voting can be done by post prior to election day, or in person at the City's Administration building at 9 Coleville Crescent, Spearwood on election day. Voting is voluntary for local govenment elections.

Who can nominate to run for council in a local government election?

Anyone aged 18 years or older, and who is on the Western Australian Electoral Commission's Electoral Roll, which is currently being prepared, can nominate for Council. You should be automatically enrolled for your residential address, but if you own more than one property in the district, you may be entitled to vote in more than on ward election. Check with the City's Rates Department on 08 9411 3444 on your eligibility.

Closing date for registrations to be on the Electoral Roll

Registrations to be included on the Electoral Roll close on Friday 27 August 2021.  In order to be included on the electoral roll for the district of Cockburn, you will need to complete either Form 2 'Enrolment Eligibility Claim' (for individuals) or Form 2B 'Application to Register a Nominee for Co-Owners or Co-Occupiers' (for owners of multiple properties and businesses), which can be found below.

You cannot run for Council if you are:

  • A member of parliament or a member on another Council
  • Financially insolvent
  • Currently serving a prison sentence
  • Convicted of a serious local government offence in the previous five years
  • Convicted of an offence for which the indictable penalty was imprisonment of more than five years
  • Found personally liable for misapplying local government funds or property in the previous five years.
A person can nominate for the position of Mayor and/or as a councillor for any ward of the three wars in the district, subject to satisfying the eligibility requirements.

Mandatory training for candidates

It is mandatory for prospective candidates to undertake a training course prior to nomination.

For further information please visit the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries opens in a new window website.

How to become a Councillor?

You can nominate to stand as a candidate in the local government elections, by contacting the Returning Officer (details will be provided when available). If accepted, you are then able to commence your campaign for election. 

Western Australian Local Government Association (WALGA) Webinar for Prospective Candidates

If you are thinking about nominating to become an Elected Member, you may register for this free webinar to have all your questions answered.

When: Wednesday 18 August 2021
Time:  5pm-6pm (includes Q&A session)

Register opens in a new window for this free webinar.

Local Candidate Information Seminar

There will be a candidate information evening for prospective candidates at the City's Administration Building. There will be presenters from the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries, Western Australian Local Government Association, Western Australian Electoral Commission and City Staff. The seminar is free to Cockburn electors and light refreshments will be provided.

When: Wednesday 25 August 2021
Time: 6pm-8.30pm

To register, complete the registration form below by 5pm on 24 August 2021. Registration is mandatory.

Print Blank Form

Seminar Registration

All fields are required except where indicated.

I wish to register for the City of Cockburn Elections Seminar, held at the City of Cockburn Administration Building Wednesday 25 August 2021 at 6pm.
My details are as follows:

Note: street number and street name are needed for all addresses

Wards and boundaries

Please go to Our People and Suburbs opens in a new window for more information on Cockburn wards and boundaries.

Social Media Share Links below open in a new window



9 Coleville Crescent,
Spearwood 6163

PO Box 1215, Bibra Lake DC,
Western Australia, 6965

Language Support

Cockburn Nyungar moort Beeliar boodja-k kaadadjiny. Koora, yeyi, benang baalap nidja boodja-k kaaradjiny.
Ngalak kaadatj dayin boodja, kep wer malayin. Ngalak kaadatj koora koora wer yeyi ngalang birdiya.

City of Cockburn acknowledges the Nyungar people of Beeliar boodja. Long ago, now and in the future they care for country.
We acknowledge a continuing connection to land, waters and culture and pay our respects to the Elders, past, present and emerging.