Development Assessment Panel (DAP)

The Development Assessment Panel (DAP) is an independent decision-making body established in July 2011. The panel consist of five members being three independent technical experts and two elected local government representatives.

The DAP determines development applications on behalf of the local government and/or the Western Australian Planning Commission (WAPC).

DAPs were combined to service more than one local government area, noting the City of Cockburn is within the Metro Outer Joint Development Assessment Panel (JDAP), which also covers the local government areas of: Armadale, Gosnells, Joondalup, Kalamunda, Kwinana, Mandurah, Mundaring, Murray, Rockingham, Serpentine-Jarrahdale and Swan. 

Under the Development Assessment Panel (DAP) Regulations 2011,  some applicants can choose to have their development application determined by the City of Cockburn or the JDAP, whilst other applicants must have their development application determined by the JDAP – this depends on the nature and cost of the development proposed.

View the JDAP agendas and minutes

Development Assessment Panel Applications

DAP Application
Reference Number
Application Description Property Location Date Received Status Update Confirmed Meeting Date Meeting Time Outcome
DAP23/005 Phoenix Shopping Centre Redevelopment  254 Rockingham Road, Spearwood 20/12/23 Complete 26/02/24 9.30am Approved 
DAP23/006 Muliple Dwellings (two residential apartment towers) Lot 100 (No.1) Kentucky Court, Cockburn Central 21/12/23 Complete  29/02/24 9.30am Approved 
DAP23/004 Fast Food Outlets (3), Motor Vehicle Wash, Medical Centre, Service Station  Lot 9501 Gaebler Road, Hammond Park  22/12/23 Complete  23/05/2024 9:30am Approved
DAP24/001 Warehouses (46) 100 Prinsep Road, Jandakot  30/01/24 RAR Submitted 08/05/24 9:30am Approved
DAP24/002 Mixed Use Residential Development Lot 9010 (No. 21) Muriel Court, Cockburn Central 20/03/2024 Under Assessment TBA TBA TBA
DAP24/004 Service Station Lot 91 (436) Carrington Street, Hamilton Hill 29/4/2024 Under Assessment TBA TBA TBA

Further information:

To view all current development assessment panel applications, please visit Current Development Assessment Panel applications on the WA State Government website.



City of Cockburn
Whadjuk Boodja
9 Coleville Crescent,
Spearwood 6163

PO Box 1215, Bibra Lake DC,
Western Australia, 6965

Office opening hours:
8.30am to 4.30pm
Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays)

Language Support

Social Media

Cockburn Nyungar moort Beeliar boodja-k kaadadjiny. Koora, yeyi, benang baalap nidja boodja-k kaaradjiny.
Ngalak kaditj boodjar kep wer kaadidjiny kalyakool yoodaniny, wer koora wer yeyi ngalak Birdiya koota-djinanginy.

City of Cockburn acknowledges the Nyungar people of Beeliar boodja. Long ago, now and in the future they care for Country.
We acknowledge a continuing connection to land, waters and culture and pay our respects to the Elders, past and present.