Aggressive and Dangerous Dogs

Aggressive dogs

Dangerous dogs - declared

The City may declare an individual dog as dangerous if:
               (a)     the dog has caused injury or damage by an attack on, or chasing, a person, animal or vehicle; or
               (b)     the dog has, repeatedly, shown a tendency — 
                              (i)     to attack, or chase, a person, animal or vehicle even though no injury has been caused by that behaviour; or
                              (ii)    to threaten to attack.
Owners of dogs declared as dangerous must comply with the requirements of the Dog Act 1976 or face penalties, including fines.

Dangerous dogs - restricted breeds

The Dog Act 1976 opens in a new window and the Dog Regulations 2013 provide information on dangerous dogs (restricted breeds). Under the Dog Act a dangerous dog (restricted breed) opens in a new window is defined as a breed whose import into Australia is prohibited. Please see the WA Rangers Restricted Breed Dogs information opens in a new window for a list of current restricted breeds in WA. Please note this includes pure and cross breeds.

You must follow legislative requirements for keeping a restricted breed dog opens in a new window which includes mixed breeds.

More information and contact

Please contact Rangers Services for more information on barking or dangerous dogs on 08 9411 3444 or at [email protected]



Whadjuk Boodja
9 Coleville Crescent,
Spearwood 6163

PO Box 1215, Bibra Lake DC,
Western Australia, 6965

Office opening hours:
8.30am to 4.30pm
Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays)

Language Support

Cockburn Nyungar moort Beeliar boodja-k kaadadjiny. Koora, yeyi, benang baalap nidja boodja-k kaaradjiny.
Ngalak kaadatj dayin boodja, kep wer malayin. Ngalak kaadatj koora koora wer yeyi ngalang birdiya.

City of Cockburn acknowledges the Nyungar people of Beeliar boodja. Long ago, now and in the future they care for country.
We acknowledge a continuing connection to land, waters and culture and pay our respects to the Elders, past, present and emerging.