City of Cockburn welcomes one new Elected Member

Long-standing Cockburn Mayor Logan Howlett was elected for a fourth full term at the Local Government election in the City of Cockburn on Saturday.

Entering his 13th year as Mayor of Cockburn, Mayor Howlett is well known and respected for his enduring support of local grass-roots organisations, the important role of volunteers and championing the educational needs of children of all ages.

In the Mayoral election, Mayor Howlett achieved 44.16 per cent of the vote, with re-elected councillors Chontelle Stone 17.14 per cent, Philip Eva 16.27 per cent, and Michael Separovich 10.75 per cent. Candidate Chris Davies received 11.68 per cent of votes.

With 28.87 per cent of electors participating in the non-compulsory Ordinary Election, the Council will welcome one new Elected Member, East ward representative Tarun Dewan. He was elected by 44.54 per cent of participating voters to fill one vacancy following the September 2021 resignation of East ward representative Lee-Anne Smith.

Incumbent Elected Members Cr Eva (32.40 per cent) and Cr Stone (25.49 per cent) will continue to represent the Central ward, while Cr Kevin Allen (24.95 per cent) and Cr Separovich (18.49 per cent) will continue to represent West ward.

Elected Members will elect a Deputy Mayor at a live streamed Special Council Meeting at 7pm Thursday, 21 October. Elected Members will also:
  • Set Meeting Fees and Mayoral/Deputy Mayoral Allowance
  • Appoint Membership of Committees (on an interim basis pending Council consideration of the Governance Review Report), and
  • Appoint Delegates to the WA Local Government (South Metropolitan Zone).
Mayor Howlett was a Cockburn councillor from 1990-1999 before being popularly elected Mayor by the community in 2009.

“It’s a role I am very passionate about and proud of. I also pay tribute to my wife Pat who is an unfailing support to me and an integral part of all I do in the role of Mayor,” Mayor Howlett said.

“I look forward to the next four years as the City continues to further establish itself as a powerhouse growth zone, with Cockburn Central fast becoming the regional capital of the south metropolitan area.

“Cockburn is pretty hard to beat. Our 23 suburbs and 119,000+ residents are sustained by prosperous employment nodes, vibrant shopping opportunities, a wide range of housing options, constantly improving transport options and abundant natural and built recreation choices, including a bustling marina.

“We have some exciting projects coming to fruition this year, including the Treeby Community and Sports Centre, Frankland Park Sports and Community Centre and Port Coogee Marina expansion.

“Looking ahead, progress is continuing on the Aboriginal Cultural and Visitors Centre. This unique destination will attract an estimated 20,000 visitors per year to a site adjacent to Walliabup-Bibra Lake where people of all ages will be able to learn more about the area’s rich Nyungar history.”

Related Pages



City of Cockburn
Whadjuk Boodja
9 Coleville Crescent,
Spearwood 6163

PO Box 1215, Bibra Lake DC,
Western Australia, 6965

Office opening hours:
8.30am to 4.30pm
Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays)

Language Support

Social Media

Cockburn Nyungar moort Beeliar boodja-k kaadadjiny. Koora, yeyi, benang baalap nidja boodja-k kaaradjiny.
Ngalak kaadatj dayin boodja, kep wer malayin. Ngalak kaadatj koora koora wer yeyi ngalang birdiya.

City of Cockburn acknowledges the Nyungar people of Beeliar boodja. Long ago, now and in the future they care for Country.
We acknowledge a continuing connection to land, waters and culture and pay our respects to the Elders, past and present.