City Management and Structure

The City of Cockburn oversees a range of functions.

The organisation has five divisions:

  • Executive Division
  • Finance and Corporate Services Division
  • Governance and Community Services Division
  • Planning and Development Division
  • Engineering and Works Division.

Executive Division

This division includes the Chief Executive Officer, Directors, an Executive Manager Strategy and two departments, Executive Support and Civic Support. Executive Support provides administrative support to, and on behalf of, the CEO and Executive Group. Civic Support focuses on civic and ceremonial functions. Both units coordinate and provide support to Council and other Civic meetings.

Finance and Corporate Services

Finance and Corporate Services manage the financial, technology and human resources functions of the City. This division coordinates annual budgets, oversees financial transactions and ensures public accountability. This division provides policy, programs and advice in the areas of pay, employee relations, learning and safety. The technology arm manages the City’s information systems, its record keeping requirements and provides a geographic information service.

Governance and Community Services

Governance and Community Services is one of the largest areas of the City.  It is the area that covers 'people' services and includes libraries, Recreation Services, the Youth Centre, Seniors Centre, aged and disabled services and support for people with disability. This Directorate also oversees Rangers and Community Safety, including dogs and cats, litter and parking. Governance and Community Services are responsible for the Corporate Communications Services and governance functions of the City.

Planning and Development Services

This division includes Building, Health, Statutory Planning, Strategic Planning, and Land Administration Services. Planning and Development oversee building applications and permits, development applications and approvals, environmental health including noise, dust and pollution and public health. Strategic Planning guides the City’s development through administering the Town Planning Scheme, and Land Administration oversees the retention and sale of land assets.

Engineering and Works Services

The Engineering and Works Directorate manages Parks, Road Construction and Design, Infrastructure Services including the Port Coogee Marina and Fleet Services, waste collection and disposal and Environmental Management, including sustainability and climate change. This division has both a strategic and operational focus.

Related Documents

Document name Downloadable files
Social Media Share Links below open in a new window



9 Coleville Crescent,
Spearwood 6163

PO Box 1215, Bibra Lake DC,
Western Australia, 6965

Office opening hours:
8.30am to 4.30pm
Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays)

Language Support

Cockburn Nyungar moort Beeliar boodja-k kaadadjiny. Koora, yeyi, benang baalap nidja boodja-k kaaradjiny.
Ngalak kaadatj dayin boodja, kep wer malayin. Ngalak kaadatj koora koora wer yeyi ngalang birdiya.

City of Cockburn acknowledges the Nyungar people of Beeliar boodja. Long ago, now and in the future they care for country.
We acknowledge a continuing connection to land, waters and culture and pay our respects to the Elders, past, present and emerging.