Our People and Suburbs

Nearly 112,000 people live in the City’s 23 suburbs and this is expected to grow to over 170,000 by 2036. Cockburn’s suburbs are divided into three wards, east, central and west. The City has a range of demographic tools to understand and analyse population and economic activity in the area.

Cockburn suburbs

East ward

The City’s east ward contains some of the City’s newest and fastest-growing suburbs and community facilities. Residents of the east ward are represented by three Councillors.

The suburbs of the east ward are:

  • Atwell
  • Aubin Grove
  • Banjup
  • Hammond Park
  • Jandakot
  • Leeming
  • Success
  • Treeby.

Central ward

The City’s central ward contains one the City’s most well-known chain of wetlands, featuring North Lake, Bibra Lake and Yangebup Lake. Residents of the central ward are represented by three Councillors.

The suburbs of the central ward are:

  • Beeliar
  • Bibra Lake
  • Cockburn Central
  • Coolbellup
  • North Lake
  • Yangebup 
  • South Lake
  • Wattleup.

West ward

The City’s west ward contains the outer-most chain of wetlands, featuring Lake Coogee and the Market Garden Swamps, and is home to a rapidly growing coastal community. Residents of the west ward are represented by three Councillors.

The suburbs of the west ward are:

  • Coogee
  • Hamilton Hill
  • Henderson
  • Lake Coogee
  • Munster
  • North Coogee
  • Spearwood.

Cockburn people

The City has a number of interactive demographic, economic and community tools that provide key data and analysis for the City Cockburn, and comparing it with the Greater Perth Region, the South West Group, and the State of Western Australia.

Cockburn Economy

The Economy opens in a new window Module provides data and insights into the City’s economy, jobs, and businesses, with information broken down to an industry and worker level. As a major disruptor, Covid 19 impacts are also plotted and provided in this module.

Cockburn Community

The Community opens in a new window module provides data and insights into the City’s economy, jobs and businesses across a range of metrics including population changes, migration patterns, education levels, work status, housing, and wellbeing.


The Forecast Module opens in a new window estimates the City’s population, household composition, and dwelling types for the next 25 years. Available at a City-wide and suburb level, this module provides insights into the anticipated growth in the City’s population and how and where people will live.



Whadjuk Boodja
9 Coleville Crescent,
Spearwood 6163

PO Box 1215, Bibra Lake DC,
Western Australia, 6965

Office opening hours:
8.30am to 4.30pm
Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays)

Language Support

Cockburn Nyungar moort Beeliar boodja-k kaadadjiny. Koora, yeyi, benang baalap nidja boodja-k kaaradjiny.
Ngalak kaadatj dayin boodja, kep wer malayin. Ngalak kaadatj koora koora wer yeyi ngalang birdiya.

City of Cockburn acknowledges the Nyungar people of Beeliar boodja. Long ago, now and in the future they care for country.
We acknowledge a continuing connection to land, waters and culture and pay our respects to the Elders, past, present and emerging.