Countdown to Lake Coogee suburb launch begins

The countdown to the City of Cockburn’s newest suburb of Lake Coogee coming into effect has begun.

Lake Coogee will be officially recognised as a suburb from Monday, 30 March.

The new suburb was the result of a community-led proposal that received Council support, followed by approval from Landgate’s Geographic Names Committee.   

Lake Coogee will replace parts of Munster, but a section of Munster to the east of Rockingham Road will remain unchanged.  

What are the changes?
  • The part of Munster west of Stock Road/Rockingham Road, east of the Lake Coogee lake, and north of Frobisher Avenue will be renamed Lake Coogee, and
  • The part of Munster west of Stock Road/Rockingham Road, west of the Lake Coogee lake, and south of Frobisher Avenue, will become part of Henderson.
The City also supported an extension of the boundary of Henderson northwards to include land zoned for future development, as Marine Related Industry.

Australia Post, WA Police, St John Ambulance, the Department of Fire and Emergency Services, the WA Electoral Commission and the Water Corporation have been advised of the changes, but for privacy reasons residents must make some notifications themselves.

People living in the affected areas need to update their own personal details with various organisations, such as banks and insurance companies, once the change is formally applied.

Australia Post has advised that from March 30, 2020, mail will be delivered to either suburb address for four months.

The attempt to rename part of Munster has a long history, with Cockburn Council passing a resolution in 2013 to approach Landgate about creating a new suburb of South Coogee.

This was rejected on the basis it replicated a suburb in New South Wales, but the South Coogee Community Association formed and its members campaigned for the area to be named Lake Coogee, excising it from Munster which was given its name in 1954.

The Munster name originally honoured Prince William, the Earl of Munster.

A list of frequently asked questions for affected residents can be found here.  

See a map of the new boundaries here.

Related Pages



City of Cockburn
Whadjuk Boodja
9 Coleville Crescent,
Spearwood 6163

PO Box 1215, Bibra Lake DC,
Western Australia, 6965

Office opening hours:
8.30am to 4.30pm
Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays)

Language Support

Social Media

Cockburn Nyungar moort Beeliar boodja-k kaadadjiny. Koora, yeyi, benang baalap nidja boodja-k kaaradjiny.
Ngalak kaditj boodjar kep wer kaadidjiny kalyakool yoodaniny, wer koora wer yeyi ngalak Birdiya koota-djinanginy.

City of Cockburn acknowledges the Nyungar people of Beeliar boodja. Long ago, now and in the future they care for Country.
We acknowledge a continuing connection to land, waters and culture and pay our respects to the Elders, past and present.