Inspirational Volunteer Awards

About the Inspirational Volunteer Awards

Not-for-profit groups and clubs based in, or servicing Cockburn are invited to nominate volunteers from their organisations who deserve recognition for their inspirational volunteering contributions. This year we have also included nominations from individual members of the community.

Inspirational Volunteer Awards 2019

Nominations for this year's Inspirational Volunteer Awards are now closed.

For more information, please read the Nomination Guidelines.

Inspirational Volunteer Awards categories

Nominate an inspirational volunteer in one of the following categories:

  • Community Leader
  • Volunteer Organisation
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Mayor’s Volunteer Award (10+ years of service)
  • Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Volunteer

2019 Inspirational Volunteer Awards Prizes

Each Category winner will receive a $500 gift voucher and certificate.
The Inspirational Volunteer of the Year winner will have a star named after them; receive an additional $250 voucher
and certificate.

2019 Winners

Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Award
Heidi Mippy - Djidji Djidji Aboriginal Women's Corporation

Community Leader Award
Lechun Zhang - Cockburn Chinese Community Association

Mayors Award (10+ years service)
Ann Gerlach - Yangebup Family Centre Inc

Volunteer of the Year
Robert Kellar - Harvest Lakes Residents Association

Volunteer Organisation
Assisting Your Life To Achieve (AYLA Inc.)

Inspirational Volunteer of the Year
Ann Gerlach - Yangebup Family Centre Inc

More information and contact

Please contact the Cockburn Volunteering Development Centre for more information on the Inspirational Volunteer Awards Program Tel: 08 9411 3490 or Email:

Social Media Share Links below open in a new window



9 Coleville Crescent,
Spearwood 6163

PO Box 1215, Bibra Lake DC,
Western Australia, 6965

Language Support

Visit the City of Cockburn homepage

Cockburn Nyungar moort Beeliar boodja-k kaadadjiny. Koora, yeyi, benang baalap nidja boodja-k kaaradjiny.
Ngalak kaadatj dayin boodja, kep wer malayin. Ngalak kaadatj koora koora wer yeyi ngalang birdiya.

City of Cockburn acknowledges the Nyungar people of Beeliar boodja. Long ago, now and in the future they care for country.
We acknowledge a continuing connection to land, waters and culture and pay our respects to the Elders, past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are warned that this website may contain images and voices of deceased persons.