City of Cockburn Community Citizen of the Year Awards

City of Cockburn Community Citizen of the Year Awards 2020 

The awards profile leading citizens who are role models and who inspire us with their achievements and challenge us to make our own contribution to creating a better community. The recipients will be selected from people and groups who have made a noteworthy contribution during the current year or given outstanding service to the community over a number of years. The awards are presented at the City's Australia Day Awards and Citizenship Ceremony each year.

There are four categories to nominate opens in a new window in:

  • The Community Citizen of the Year
  • The Young Community Citizen of the Year (for individuals under 25 years) 
  • The Senior Community Citizen of the Year (for individuals over 25 years)
  • The Active Citizenship Award (for community group or event).

Nominate a community citizen 

Nominations for 2020 have now closed. Winners will be announced at the City's Citizenship Ceremony on Sunday, 26 January 2020 and will be published on the City's website soon after.  Nominations for the 2021 awards will be open from early September 2020. To find out more, visit the Australia Day WA website opens in a new window.

Who is eligible for nomination?

Please note the following guidelines when nominating a Community Citizen:

  • A person must first be nominated to be considered for the Awards
  • The person must live or work primarily within the City of Cockburn
  • Awards may be granted posthumously in recognition of recent achievements
  • Groups of people or couples will not normally be eligible except when meeting the criteria for a community group
  • A couple may be recognised in an individual category
  • A person may receive an award on more than one occasion in recognition of particularly outstanding community contribution or involvement in an alternative initiative
  • Self nominations are not accepted
  • Individuals must be at least 16 years of age on 26 January, though younger nominees may be considered for exceptional contribution
  • Unsuccessful nominees may be nominated in future years
  • Nominations must be apolitical in their nature and should not in any way bring the awards program or local government area into disrepute
  • Sitting members of State, Federal and Local Government are not eligible
For more information on eligibilty criteria visit the Australia Day WA website opens in a new window.

Community Citizen Selection Criteria

Winners are judged to have shown active citizenship and:

  • Significant contribution to the local community
  • Demonstrated leadership on a community issue resulting in the enhancement of community life
  • Contributed to a significant initiative which has brought about positive change and added value to community life
  • Inspiring qualities as a role model for the community
For more information on selection criteria visit the Australia Day WA website opens in a new window.

Previous winners 2019

The Community Citizen of the Year

Christine Duckham

Christine has worked tirelessly on many projects, however special mention should be made to all her efforts on establishing the Hamilton Hill Hub, the first community run community centre in the City of Cockburn.  Christine has created a place where community can come together to learn, celebrate and form new friendships. The Hub had its official opening in November 2018.

The workshops and classes the Hub offers are well attended. Christine volunteers hours of her time to ensure the Hub operates seamlessly, is clean and well organised and on top of that Christine makes everyone feel welcome. She has planted flowers and shrubs and arranged signage. Christine has done an incredible job and our community is benefitting greatly as a result.

Senior Community Citizen of the Year 2019

Geoff Webb
Geoff has been instrumental in the realisation of the Cockburn Community Men's Shed.  Geoff's involvement began on a steering committee in 2011 and the purpose built shed officially opened on 13 June 2018. The planning, designing, financing, building and commissioning of the shed has been a huge task over 7 years in which Geoff has acted as a constant contributor, consultant, communicator and mediator. 

Geoff has a long history of active citizenship and volunteering in the community.  His energy, commitment and tenacity to see the realisation of this project is inspiring.  Geoff had many things on his plate over this period but always found the energy to step up when needed. He had a deep commitment to meeting the community's need for a Men's shed and would not allow the many inevitable obstacles of such projects deter the realisation of this vision.  Filling the need for his was his sole motivation.

Young Community Citizen of the Year 2019

Eliza Blight

Eliza is an outstanding young citizen and shares her passion for the community of Cockburn where she studies and lives, particularly through the Cockburn Youth Advisory Collective, Lakeland Senior High School and her extensive volunteer work in the community. 

Eliza has fundraised for Native ARC, a local non-profit organisation that provides medical care and rehabilitation services for hundreds of injured, sick or orphaned native wildlife each year.  She also helps organise local youth events including Battle of the Bands, FROSH Festival and the Youth ANZAC Parade and Service. 

Since joining the Cockburn Youth Advisory Collective a year ago, she has been an energetic and decisive member in developing this volunteer group of young people aged 12-24 years who live, work or study in the City of Cockburn. She has turned her awareness of the challenges young people face into opportunities and is sharing her volunteering passion with the community. Eliza’s unique passion and great skills as a leader are inspirational to her peers.

Active Citizenship Award - Group/Community Event 2019

Beeliar Community Voice Inc

Beeliar Community Voice is a residents group whose purpose is to make Beeliar an exceptional community focused suburb and to foster pride in their community. Their Committee works to build local participation and create a stronger sense of community inclusiveness and wellbeing. They endeavour to make the suburb safer and collaborate to promote a healthier environment. The group strives to build relationships with businesses, the City of Cockburn, Government Agencies and other community groups in the area.

Along with community meetings the community events they have organised included a Twilight market, Seniors Morning Tea, clean-up day and a community coffee and crime and safety forum. The Beeliar Big Birthday Bash in 2018 was an amazing event which attracted hundreds of people. This event celebrated Beeliar’s 25th year anniversary as a named suburb. The group had local artist Jack Bromell paint a unique mural on the community centre wall, contributing to the revitalisation of the centre and improving the heart of this suburb.  They organised a variety of entertainment and the event presented a great opportunity for community to come together, celebrate together and make new connections. This group should be commended for all the hard work they put into their events which enrich the local community greatly.

Social Media Share Links below open in a new window



9 Coleville Crescent,
Spearwood 6163

PO Box 1215, Bibra Lake DC,
Western Australia, 6965

Language Support

Visit the City of Cockburn homepage

Cockburn Nyungar moort Beeliar boodja-k kaadadjiny. Koora, yeyi, benang baalap nidja boodja-k kaaradjiny.
Ngalak kaadatj dayin boodja, kep wer malayin. Ngalak kaadatj koora koora wer yeyi ngalang birdiya.

City of Cockburn acknowledges the Nyungar people of Beeliar boodja. Long ago, now and in the future they care for country.
We acknowledge a continuing connection to land, waters and culture and pay our respects to the Elders, past, present and emerging.