Extraordinary Election set down for 8 July

An Extraordinary Election to fill the Councillor vacancy in the City of Cockburn’s East ward will be determined by postal vote on Friday 8 July.

The single vacancy is the result of the resignation of former East ward Councillor Chamonix Terblanche. The new Councillor’s term will expire on 21 October 2023 when the role is due for re-election.
People on the electoral roll in the City’s East ward suburbs of Atwell, Aubin Grove, Banjup, Hammond Park, Jandakot, Leeming, Success and Treeby are eligible to vote in the election.
Those intending to vote should be enrolled by 5pm Thursday 19 May. Enrol to vote at the WA Electoral Commission website or check your enrolment eligibility by contacting the City’s Rates department on 9411 3444.

The non-compulsory election will be conducted by the WA Electoral Commission which has appointed Returning Officer Linda Scott to oversee the ballot which will close at 6pm on 8 July.
Candidates can nominate to stand in the election from 25 May until 4pm on Wednesday 1 June. Nominations can be lodged at the WA Electoral Commission website.
For more information about nominating for the vacancy, email Ms Scott at [email protected]

Related Pages



City of Cockburn
Whadjuk Boodja
9 Coleville Crescent,
Spearwood 6163

PO Box 1215, Bibra Lake DC,
Western Australia, 6965

Office opening hours:
8.30am to 4.30pm
Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays)

Language Support

Cockburn Nyungar moort Beeliar boodja-k kaadadjiny. Koora, yeyi, benang baalap nidja boodja-k kaaradjiny.
Ngalak kaadatj dayin boodja, kep wer malayin. Ngalak kaadatj koora koora wer yeyi ngalang birdiya.

City of Cockburn acknowledges the Nyungar people of Beeliar boodja. Long ago, now and in the future they care for country.
We acknowledge a continuing connection to land, waters and culture and pay our respects to the Elders, past, present and emerging.