Generous funding for 13 Cockburn playgrounds

State Government election funding totalling $530,000 to improve 13 local parks and playgrounds has been welcomed by the City of Cockburn.

The community will benefit from the upgrade projects which were part of election commitments made by Cockburn MLA David Scaife, and jointly announced on Thursday, 2 September with Local Government Minister John Carey.

City of Cockburn Mayor Logan Howlett said the announcement, held at Yangebup Family Centre, would warm the hearts of local children and their families.

Funding includes a nature play area at Tapper Reserve; shade sails in Beeliar at Radonich and Wanarie Parks, Marshwood Park in Bibra Lake, Bindjar Reserve in Lake Coogee, Blackburn and Sycamore parks and Lucken Reserve in South Lake, and Reeves Park in Success; fencing, seating and other upgrades at Nicholson and Perena Rocchi Reserves in Yangebup; redevelopment of Minori Gardens playground in Yangebup and redevelopment of the outdoor play area, bathroom renovations and installation of electronic signage at Yangebup Family Centre.

“These projects identified across the community will contribute to the catchcry ‘Cockburn, the best place to be’. Our thanks go to the McGowan government,” Mayor Howlett said.

During the election campaign Mr Scaife surveyed thousands of residents about what improvements they would like to see in Cockburn’s public open spaces.

Funding commitments:
  • Atwell: $50,000 for a nature play area at Tapper Reserve
  • Beeliar: $50,000 for shade sails at Radonich Park and Wanarie Park
  • Bibra Lake: $25,000 for shade sails at Marshwood Park
  • Lake Coogee: $25,000 for shade sails at Bindjar Reserve
  • South Lake: $75,000 for shade sails at Blackburn and Sycamore parks and Lucken Reserve
  • Success: $25,000 for shade sails at Reeves Park
  • Yangebup: $30,000 for upgrades at Nicholson and Perena Rocchi Reserves, $100,000 playground redevelopment at Minori Gardens and $150,000 for renovations to the Yangebup Family Centre outdoor play area, and bathroom.
Caption: l-r David Scaife MLA, Member for Cockburn, Josh Wilson MP, Federal Member for Fremantle, Deputy Mayor Cr Lara Kirkwood, Hon. John Carey MLA, Minister for Housing and Local Government, Mayor Logan K. Howlett, JP, Carissa Garza, President, Beeliar Community Voice, Samantha Williams, Centre Manager, Yangebup Family Centre.

Related Pages



City of Cockburn
Whadjuk Boodja
9 Coleville Crescent,
Spearwood 6163

PO Box 1215, Bibra Lake DC,
Western Australia, 6965

Office opening hours:
8.30am to 4.30pm
Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays)

Language Support

Cockburn Nyungar moort Beeliar boodja-k kaadadjiny. Koora, yeyi, benang baalap nidja boodja-k kaaradjiny.
Ngalak kaadatj dayin boodja, kep wer malayin. Ngalak kaadatj koora koora wer yeyi ngalang birdiya.

City of Cockburn acknowledges the Nyungar people of Beeliar boodja. Long ago, now and in the future they care for country.
We acknowledge a continuing connection to land, waters and culture and pay our respects to the Elders, past, present and emerging.