Cr Chamonix Terblanche resigns from East ward role

The City of Cockburn has confirmed receipt of a letter of resignation from East ward Cr Chamonix Terblanche, effective 6 April 2022.

Dr Terblanche was on a Council-approved leave of absence granted from 9 February 2022 and due to expire on 18 July 2022. Her current term as a City of Cockburn Elected Member was due to expire in October 2023.

The City is now in discussions with the Western Australian Electoral Commission about options to fill the vacancy via an Extraordinary Election likely to be held in the next two to four months.

City of Cockburn CEO Tony Brun said discussions with Mayor Logan Howlett would determine a satisfactory date for the election.

Dr Terblanche was voted onto Cockburn Council in 2015 and again in 2019.

Mayor Howlett thanked Dr Terblanche for her service to the community over the past seven years.

He encouraged City ratepayers with a desire to represent the City’s East ward suburbs of Atwell, Aubin Grove, Banjup, Hammond Park, Jandakot, Leeming, Success and Treeby to consider nominating for the vacancy.     

Related Pages



City of Cockburn
Whadjuk Boodja
9 Coleville Crescent,
Spearwood 6163

PO Box 1215, Bibra Lake DC,
Western Australia, 6965

Office opening hours:
8.30am to 4.30pm
Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays)

Language Support

Social Media

Cockburn Nyungar moort Beeliar boodja-k kaadadjiny. Koora, yeyi, benang baalap nidja boodja-k kaaradjiny.
Ngalak kaditj boodjar kep wer kaadidjiny kalyakool yoodaniny, wer koora wer yeyi ngalak Birdiya koota-djinanginy.

City of Cockburn acknowledges the Nyungar people of Beeliar boodja. Long ago, now and in the future they care for Country.
We acknowledge a continuing connection to land, waters and culture and pay our respects to the Elders, past and present.