The City has a new East Ward councillor

Aubin Grove resident Lara Kirkwood is the City's new East Ward representative.

The Extraordinary Election was called after the sudden death of former Councillor, Steven Portelli, on 26 January, 2018.

More than 24% of the ward’s 22,823 eligible voters participated in the WA Electoral Commission poll which attracted four candidates.

The final results were:
Lara Kirkwood – 2,409 votes, or 43.09% of the poll
Tarun Dewan – 1,802 votes (32.23%)
Ian Whitfield – 806 votes (14.42%)
Tony Toledo – 574 votes (10.27%).

Ms Kirkwood’s term expires on 19 October, 2019.

For more information visit the WA Electoral Commission website.


Related Pages



City of Cockburn
Whadjuk Boodja
9 Coleville Crescent,
Spearwood 6163

PO Box 1215, Bibra Lake DC,
Western Australia, 6965

Office opening hours:
8.30am to 4.30pm
Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays)

Language Support

Cockburn Nyungar moort Beeliar boodja-k kaadadjiny. Koora, yeyi, benang baalap nidja boodja-k kaaradjiny.
Ngalak kaadatj dayin boodja, kep wer malayin. Ngalak kaadatj koora koora wer yeyi ngalang birdiya.

City of Cockburn acknowledges the Nyungar people of Beeliar boodja. Long ago, now and in the future they care for country.
We acknowledge a continuing connection to land, waters and culture and pay our respects to the Elders, past, present and emerging.