Deputy Mayor remains after Wednesday's Special Council Meeting

Councillor Lee-Anne Smith will remain in her role as Deputy Mayor following a Special Council Meeting last night, Wednesday, 22 August.
Cr Chontelle Sands put forward a recommendation that Council pass a vote of no confidence in the Deputy Mayor due to alleged breaches of the Elected Members Code of Conduct and the Local Government (Rules of Conduct) Regulations 2007.  

An absolute majority of 6 votes was needed for Cr Sands’ recommendation to be passed.
The result of the vote was 5/5 and the required 6 votes needed for an absolute majority was not achieved, hence Cr Sands’ recommendation was lost.

View the Agenda online

Social Media Share Links below open in a new window

Related Pages



9 Coleville Crescent,
Spearwood 6163

Po Box 1215, Bibra Lake DC,
Western Australia, 6965

Visit the City of Cockburn homepage